November 1, 2011

Whatever Happened to Love Letters?

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:00 pm by loniricia

October 31, 2011

 

I have been going through old photo albums and boxes of pictures that never made it into albums.  The thought struck me that with all our modern technology, letters have become mostly a thing of the past.  I browsed through all the letters I have received from my children and other family members.  There were newspaper clippings, obituaries, newsletters, bookmarks, cards from all sort of occasions.  It will be my winter project that all these bits become a scrapbook, which in turn made me think of the scrapbooks my grandmother created.  They are wonderful and provide a glimpse into my grandmother’s life, likes, longings, pastimes.  She passed when I was 7, so it is like getting to know her.

 

So, I’m now thinking that this blog will be a way for someone to come to know me, even though we have never met face to face – what an awesome thought.  While I love spending time surfing websites, learning all kinds of new things and seeing things I would never be able to see otherwise, I will still miss a handwritten love letter.

Leave a Reply

