October 1, 2011

My Favorite Poem

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:41 am by loniricia

My favorite poem:

POSSESSION

by Priscilla Stees Klein

Could I but hold within my hands

The beauty of this day,

No leaf should drop, but always stay

Upon the crimson bough.

Each bit of color floating through

October’s rare and radiant blue

Should drift forever ‘twixt the earth

And sky, as it does now.

And yet, I know this day must go;

The seasons show God’s plans

As colors change.  So I must be

Content to hold in memory

What can’t be held in hands.

2 Comments »

  1. Gail Slaughter said,

    This is one of my favorite poems too. I recently had reason to recite it, and someone wanted a copy, so I checked online before typing it in and found this. I had cut it out from a Unity magazine many years ago (sometime in the 70s). Where did you hear it? Every fall the words go through my head many times.

    • loniricia said,

      Hi, Gail! I’m so glad you responded to my post. It sounds like we are kindred spirits because I love this poem, I also found it through Unity publications and by your email address, believe we are both “leafladies”.
      Fall is my favorite season. This poem always brings to mind not only the nostalgia about the fleeting season of autumn, but also is a reminder to myself about remembering my loved ones that have passed. I hope you enjoy this coming season to the fullest!


Leave a Reply

